Other Plans in the Making

With winter upon us Idlewild has been parked in the neighbor’s field to await the coming spring. Winter provides almost no time to do any of the upcoming projects that need doing…and it’s freakin’ freezing out there!!!

As such my efforts have turned elsewhere. The reason for me wanting to live in an RV full-time is so that I can travel, see new places, meet new people, do new things and earn money in different jobs. I love adventure and experiences. And thus my attentions have turned to plans for summer 2016.

Currently I am working on a pack adventure with the horses to take 5 days and 4 nights (approximately) to ride the Solitude Trail loop around the Cloud Peak in the Cloud Peak Wilderness, located in the Bighorn National Forest in Wyoming. It is a 65 mile trail that traverses some of the most beautiful terrain the Bighorn Mountains can offer, often above tree line. Pictures from my last post, a guest post about our camping trip, include some of Emerald Lake which is high in the wilderness. It is this kind of terrain we will be covering and crossing for 5 days.

11143656_10155862534385076_5690019261758182026_o

While I would do this alone if necessary I am hoping to gather together a few like-minded individuals in the area to join me in hopes of having an enjoyable time. One of my fondest memories was a pack trip with the first guest ranch I ever worked for in Telluride, CO. It was 5 days of riding, with each campsite set up by the support crew before we arrived. The campfires each night and camaraderie were some of the most amazing times I’ve ever had. I don’t aim to repeat that, but just to create more while doing something a little different.

The organization of this trip is complicated by the lack of pack horses for now, but I am hoping that changes as people become interested. If no pack-horses present themselves then we will be taking inspiration from the ultra-light, thru-hiking backpackers of the Pacific Crest Trail, Appalachian Trail and Continental Divide Trail, and carrying everything we need with us on our personal horses. Thankfully there is plenty of time to figure this out.

The other plans I have are for many weekend hikes into the Bighorn Mountains, camping trips and spending more time fishing. I would also like to spend a week backpacking some of the trails in the area and seeing how well I do with that before I look to loftier goals in 2017. There is something about backpacking alone that really hits a chord with me. While I love (and I do mean LOVE) being out in the back-country with others, either riding, hiking, fishing or camping, there is something about the solitude in the wilderness when you are alone with your best friends (Kye and Cody)…and yes I know that isn’t truly “alone”, but I don’t leave the pups behind if I don’t have to.

As for loftier goals next year…well, let’s just see how this year goes first.

I’m not yet sure whether I will be taking a road trip this year. It is possible but finances will dictate that closer to the time. It is probable that I will not go as far afield as I did this year and spend more time in each place if I do go…again, trying to create experiences. It is the journey, not the destination that is important.

Stay tuned for updates. God bless and Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

